Menu Close

Vienna Congress (Vienna Treaty) 1815

In 1815, representatives of Europeon powers – Britain, Russia, Prussia and Austria- who had collectively defeated Napoleon , met at Vienna to draw up a settlement for Europe, restore the Monarchies overthrown by Napoleon and create a new conservative order.

The Congress was hosted by Austrian Chancellor Duke Metternich.

Following changes were brought in by the Vienna Congress:-

  • The Bourbon dynasty  was restored to power in France.
  • France lost the territories it had annexed under Napoleon.
  • A series of states were set up on the boundaries of France to prevent French expansion in future.
  • Kingdom of Netherlands , which included Belgium was set up in North.
  • Genoa was added to Piedmont in the south.
  • Prussia was given important new territories on its western frontiers.
  • Austria was given control of northern Italy.
  • Russia was given part of Poland.
  • Prussia was given a portion of Saxony.
  • German confederation of 39 states set up by Napoleon was left untouched.